Romans Blockhouse - Constitution Island
Romans Blockhouse - Constitution Island (1779-1783) - A Patriot Revolutionary War Blockhouse established in 1779 on Constitution Island in Putnam County, New York. Named after engineer Bernard Romans. Abandoned at the end of the war in 1783.
Romans Blockhouse - Constitution Island History
Part of Fortress West Point.
Established as an octagonal(round), blockhouse in October 1775 by engineer Bernard Romans, completed on 11 Nov 1775. The blockhouse was located on knoll at what was to be the center of Fort Constitution Grand Bastion. Romans Blockhouse and Romans Battery were the only two components completed.
The blockhouse was thirty feet in diameter and the upper story was armed with eight 4-pounders cannons. Lord Stirling described the blockhouse as "a log house or tower on the highest cliff, near the water, mounted with 8 cannons, pointed out of the garret windows, and looks very picturesque."
The blockhouse was destroyed by the British during their 20 day occupation in October 1777.
Archeological remains and a marker at the site.
Visited: 11 May 2012